A Day Off From Parenting

Good morning everyone and what a lovely day this is! We are celebrating Mother’s Day this weekend.

On a side note I do want to mentioned my dear sister’s blog Parenthics. She writes about parenting and women’s empowerment. I thought about her while writing this post because the title of this post is A Day Off From Parenting.

History of Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day derives from the ancient Greeks who honored Rhea. I remember learning about Greek history from my middle school days since I was the little kid in the back corner who asked about Mother’s Day. Goddess Rhea was the mother of all gods and goddess of female fertility, motherhood, and generation.

Courtesy of the Louvre Museum

Sunday May 5th, 2016

I bought a bouquet of red roses and her favorite chocolate: Lindt Lindor caramel truffles. I cut the stems of roses at the bottom and did the flower arranging myself. I love being creative and this is one of my many talents. In addition, she received a Happy Mother’s Day text in the morning as well  🙂

20160505_155512

20160505_155427

Our plan today for my mom is possibly going to watch Captain America: Civil War. I say Bahama mama because we went on vacation to an island a few years back and she loved it 🙂

More will be posted soon on the food I made throughout the day.

What did you do for your mom? Did you cook for her, go out to eat or both? Let me know in the comments below.

Like. Follow. Share!

#AdventurousFoodie

AF.

4 thoughts on “A Day Off From Parenting

    1. Thank you for commenting. Frankly, I didn’t know about the history of Mother’s Day until I Googled it. I remembered bits and pieces of it from Greek mythology from middle school.

      Like

Leave a Reply

