Rooted Turnips: A Memento

Good day everyone! Hope all of you are enjoying your day today.

I wanted to share with you a special moment that happened last week. I was shopping at ASSI Plaza near my hometown for groceries. Yes, I bought seedless kishu oranges and firm tofu. I walked up to the vegetable basket racks and saw turnips.

There were 2 different types on the racks: one was in shape of a ball without the roots and another with green leaves and roots. I walked up to the turnips with the green leaves and roots. Something odd happened: I was frozen in time. Time had stopped in its tracks because I felt like people around me were moving in slow motion.

The smell of turnip, green leaves, and dirt-filled roots reminded me of vegetable sellers outside of Bombay Central Station. I couldn’t believe it. I just couldn’t believe it. How can a simple object lift you up off the ground and take you to a known place from your past? I couldn’t feel my heart at all. I kept sniffing the basket repeatedly and thought of the portable carts where sellers sold their goods.

20160227_112205
The smell of fresh, dripping water, and rustic pipes above the turnips was what reminded me of portable carts of sellers in India.

While writing this post, I can still remember it vividly. Smelling the scents of fried street food, rustic metal scent from train tracks, and the scent of rose and carnation petals from flower sellers was my favorite while I visited my relatives in Bombay. This memento reminds me of my childhood in India.

My new readers and regular followers: I wanted to share this special moment with you because you get an inside look of who I am in my blog.

I hope you enjoyed reading as much as I did writing it!  Comment below of your favorite and recent mementos that remind you of that special place.

#Inspire #Motivate #Elevate

IME.

Like. Comment. Follow.

Leave a Reply

